PDA

View Full Version : RTM Homes

Topwater
03-21-2011, 07:25 PM
Anyone have any experience purchasing a new RTM. I realize there could be some substantial savings if your out in the country but I'd be setting it up right in town. The one I'm looking at is roughly 1300 sq ft so i'm wondering what it would cost to do the basement and the other stuff that's not included in the rtm.
Steve

RLG
03-21-2011, 08:15 PM
I am a contractor in the Calgary area and am currently trying work with an RTM company out of red deer, gold west homes. DO NOT BUY THEIR HOUSES! We were called in after the homeowner realized they were being taken. I have told people this time and time again, the money you save from purchasing a move on is spent completing rest. There is a total lack of ownership in the manufacturing of these houses. Corners are cut, problems are left for "someone else" to take care of it. If you can get your house built for you, with the same general contractor throughout the entire project, you will get a better product. If you are set on getting a move on get a general contractor to manage it, it might seem like it costs more, but it will save you alot in the long term.

Freedom55
03-23-2011, 07:58 AM
The reason that folks out my way buy an RTM is because there are no general contractors in the rural areas, or if there are then they are way to busy to get to you when you want/need them. Contractors from the city do not want the business in the country as they can make the same money in town where they are already busy. If they will come to your area, you had better be close in because they all get "travelling time" which is expensive and cuts their workday in half.
They are the only option in the country and are a very popular alternative in Saskatchewan. Some of these beauties run up to 2000square feet and there are manufacturers that build them in a climate controlled environment.
I'll bet that I see at least one per week pass through my town on it's way west.