PDA

View Full Version : not beef

slingshot
03-26-2011, 08:29 PM
Believe it or not ten years have gone by and I had to buy a pound of store bought beef regular grind.What a shock had to chase the beef in a big pool of water and some fat totally not a good experience cooking it.
I still do remember the good old days of going to your favorite farmer and buying a side now that was beef,also remember the best days as this is my first time in ten years that the moose has run out

birdhunter99
03-27-2011, 12:50 PM
Have had to do the same on occasion. Buy the lean and its not too bad. The regular is full of fat and moisture. It sure makes you appreciate moose!

fallen1817
03-27-2011, 12:59 PM
Some may be able to tell the difference, but when making lasagna, or meatballs or meatloaf, My mom always used ground turkey. I couldn't tell the difference, and it is pretty lean.

-Jeff

Matt L.
03-27-2011, 02:23 PM
Slingshot, you can still go to a local farmer and buy a side. I do it quite frequently. Most farmers would be quite willing to cut the middleman out lol. But then you probably aren't going to let the moose run out again are ya? ;)

decker
03-27-2011, 02:26 PM
Slingshot, you can still go to a local farmer and buy a side. I do it quite frequently. Most farmers would be quite willing to cut the middleman out lol. But then you probably aren't going to let the moose run out again are ya? ;)

Not legally you can't Matt

avb3
03-27-2011, 02:49 PM
Not legally you can't Matt

Are you saying I can't legally buy beef from a farmer?

He can't butcher it and sell it to me, but I can butcher it.

Matt L.
03-27-2011, 02:52 PM
I believe the packages just have to be marked not government inspected don't they?

stinkynuts
03-27-2011, 03:42 PM
Buying beef off the Farm is totally fine you just need to have it Gov inspected and if its not inspected it should be stamped as so on the packageing

boone052
03-27-2011, 04:55 PM