PDA

View Full Version : Boats for Rivers

katrina.jackson
04-05-2011, 06:07 PM
Hi All!

I am new to the whole boating scene and same with my hubby.
:)
I need a boat for 5 or 6 people (including 4 dogs) with an outboard boat that does not cost 60K!

I am looking at a Crestliner Jon Boat with a 70hp motor - is this a good way to go??

We want to use the boat to cruise the river, fish and go camping.

Any advice or suggestions is appreciated. Thanks in advance

KJ

pickrel pat
04-05-2011, 06:24 PM
a boat large enuff for 5 - 6 people and 4 dogs, and gear etc, with a 70 horse might be a tad small to push that boat on the rivers. id upgrade to a larger motor. on a river there are times when you need to get up on plane in a hurry. 70 horse with a packed boat wont do it... my 2 bits.

katrina.jackson
04-05-2011, 06:33 PM
what would you suggest for an out board motor for one of those boats then??

chubbdarter
04-05-2011, 06:54 PM
Hi All!

I need a boat for 5 or 6 people (including 4 dogs) with an outboard boat that does not cost 60K!

I am looking at a Crestliner Jon Boat with a 70hp motor - is this a good way to go??

KJ

new to boating and river running with that much cargo wgt. is not the best combination
whats your estimated payload? i think your answer will exceed the recomeended load for my 24 custom weld with a 502

skidderman
04-05-2011, 08:42 PM
With that many people and dogs you need to go to an inboard jet. There are lots of used ones less than 60 k but you really need to be careful with any of these because they take a lot to maintain. Running rivers is a lot different than lakes and takes many hours of learning so you don't end up on a sandbank. With an outboard jet you loose 25% power with the jet. You would need to go very high horse power and in so doing would use a lot of fuel.

mooseknuckle
04-05-2011, 09:33 PM