PDA

View Full Version : Pontoon Fishing!!

mayuan
04-16-2011, 09:37 PM
I finally broke down and bought a pontoon.

So, is there a group of people that go pontoon or is this more of a solo thing? I was looking to drift the Bow or some other rivers and I have no experience and was looking to hook up with a few people.

I do have white water experience and know how to use a boat quite well just never owned a pontoon. I guess I should point out, not interested in white water fishing..... :)

WayneChristie
04-16-2011, 10:05 PM
Ive only used mine in lakes last year, but am hoping to do at least one float on the lower Bow this summer.

michaelmicallef
04-16-2011, 10:22 PM
I bought one this spring also. I have already seen people drifting the bow on pontoon boats last week. I am just waiting for some nice weather and better water conditions and I will be floating the bow. I would be interested in floating with you. Send me a PM.

mayuan
04-16-2011, 10:35 PM
I guess I should point out that my boat is about 3ish weeks away.

Dust1n
04-16-2011, 11:26 PM
there great on pothol lakes but once a wind starts they slid across the lake soo easy

mayuan
04-16-2011, 11:40 PM
I have always found that once the wind starts everything slides accross the lake quite well. do you think a chute would help that?

Dust1n
04-16-2011, 11:45 PM
id get a slighly under power anchor or a trolling motor but a sock woul deffinitly help

slingshotz
04-17-2011, 11:16 AM
I got one last year and only used it on the smaller lakes but I'm keen on doing a Bow drift. Ideally it would be good to do it in a group for shuttling, company and safety but there is a service that usually starts up in the summer that will shuttle you for a fee.

Just need to get some flippers for use in the pontoon. We should organize an AO group drift this year!

Dust1n
04-17-2011, 04:00 PM
itd just bring paddels ditch the flippers do to shallow waters and big rocks on botom that will snap your feet!

DiehardFishingMan