PDA

View Full Version : new to making bait rigs and leaders looking for advice

hustler
04-18-2011, 01:50 PM
I am new to making leaders and bait rigs but I have seen a few that are really appealing so I would like to give it a shot.
Ive been watching alot of european pike fishing videos where they build there own bait rigs and leaders with steel cable and crimps and Im wondering if this is common to do here aswell?
Im looking to make some 24" leaders that will hold up well and dead bait rigs with 2 trebel hooks about 6" appart with a bar weight that can be inserted in the mouth of the bait like the old wobble bars.
Is this stuff common around here? Are there kits a guy can buy to get right at it or are the tools pretty costly?
And what are you guys using/building? Florocarbon or stainless ect?
Thanks for the help :)

Braun
04-18-2011, 02:02 PM
waynechristie has started building his own rigs and was running experiments this winter using floro leaders. I watched him catch a couple monsters with them and no marks on the floro what so ever. I would assume this would be a cheaper route to go over stainless and it works just as well. So i would talk to him for sure. the tools shouldnt be too bad. All you need is a decent set of crimpers. as far as the bar you want to stick into the bait..... i have no idea. interesting concept though

hustler
04-18-2011, 02:08 PM
from what Ive seen, They use larger sized smelts, mackerel ect and the bar makes them wobble back and fourth and gets them nice and deep without having any splitshots or anything else outside of the bait itself and they all have monsters on the hooks so...... I gotta check it out lol

Gators
04-18-2011, 03:09 PM