PDA

View Full Version : Fly Reel Help

John_K
06-20-2011, 03:14 PM
Hey guys n' gals. just wondering what anyone has herd about the black casting fly reel model bf800. anything good? bad? ugly? i am trying to get a fly fishing setup on the go this year and came across this reel on ebay. a few places had it retailed upwards of 100 bucks. i looked for reviews for it but i couldnt find any. ( i only looked for about a half hour and got distracted by something shiny and lost interest) i am fairly new to fly fishing so any help would be very much appreciated.

thanks

John

goldscud
06-20-2011, 03:24 PM
These are cheap reels out of China. I think you will find that the drags tend to slip when they get wet.
Might be better to look at a Pflueger Trion or Amundson...both around $100

Okotokian
06-20-2011, 03:24 PM
It's Chinese I believe. http://www.ritafishing.com/productxx.asp?-558-.html

You could do better for $100 in any fly shop. Also, what weight of line is it for?

ÜberFly
06-20-2011, 03:25 PM
Never heard of them, but that's not a surprise. A lot of what is "sold" on ebay can be pretty obscure... One question to ask is what happens if something goes wrong with it?! Best to consider something from a better known manufacturer (a few are mentioned above). Also what kind application?! Trout? Pike? Big stream/Small stream? Important considerations!! A large arbor reel would be reco'd for everything except small stream... Much better options IMHO are available (locally) in the $100 price range!

P

John_K
06-20-2011, 03:34 PM
for the most part it will be used in the south sask river with the odd crowsnest trip tossed in for some spice. i would actually like to have several reels (or spools) with different size line on them. but for now lets say that im going to be attempting to get pike/walleye/goldeye. im going to be getting some heavy line and tippets but would like to have the reel for it. perhaps i can convince the wife to let me have several setups hahahahaha

ÜberFly