PDA

View Full Version : Amundson floating line sinks....

Lefty-Canuck
06-21-2011, 10:52 PM
I just got some new line for a fly reel I picked up....it is Amundson FLS-F8, desription says "weight forward fly line, floating" it is 8 weight. The problem is I went out fishing tonight and as I was stripping line I noticed what I was stripping next to me (this was calm water too) was sinking.....any other floating line I have used and stripped beside me has floated....even on the retreive it didn't seem to have floating characteristics

The line is really bright orange, and usually sinking lines are neutral or dark colors (clear, black, green....right?). Wondering if anyone has run into this before?...before I call them and make a fool of myself I figured I would do it here first!

LC

chubbdarter
06-21-2011, 10:55 PM
shelf stale?
clean it , dress it, try again

Lefty-Canuck
06-21-2011, 10:57 PM
shelf stale?
clean it , dress it, try again

How do I dress it? I am a newbie to this fly fishing thing... :)

LC

chubbdarter
06-21-2011, 11:00 PM
How do I dress it? I am a newbie to this fly fishing thing... :)

LC

mild dish soap in warm water to clean....dry well
wipe down with flyline dressing

Lefty-Canuck
06-21-2011, 11:03 PM
mild dish soap in warm water to clean....dry well
wipe down with flyline dressing

thanks chubb.....I guess I made the assumption with new line I wouldn't have to go through the hassle. Now I have to go find some dressing for it....

LC

chubbdarter
06-21-2011, 11:07 PM
thanks chubb.....I guess I made the assumption with new line I wouldn't have to go through the hassle. Now I have to go find some dressing for it....

LC

alot of lines,especially specialty lines sit on the shelf for along time.
Check it for hairline cracks....if you see some take it back

boot
06-22-2011, 08:07 AM

LC