PDA

View Full Version : Fly casting what the ****

maclennanchris
07-07-2011, 09:41 PM
Hey guys! Well its my first year fly fishing and have been getting along not to bad. I can cast dryflies pretty well on a calm day. The problem i have is when i move into casting flys with a bead head or a woolly bugger, something a bit bigger, heavier, my cast just goes to hell, the fly cant keep up with the fly line almost. Im using a 5/6 Fenwick rod and rio gold floating fly line, with about 18 to 24 inches of tippet which is 4X. Thought maybe i should use a thicker tippet maybe....anyhow any advise would be awesome.....

Rick.
07-07-2011, 09:43 PM
the fly cant keep up with the fly line almost
Can you explain this better? Rick.

Pudelpointer
07-07-2011, 09:52 PM
4x is probably not heavy enough to turn over heavier flies. However, when you say "24 inches of tippet" are you saying you have 2 feet of tippet attached to your leader? Or directly to your fly line?

When using a floating line the minimum leader length is 9-10 feet, often a lot longer (18-20 feet), though 12 feet is probably my average leader length for fishing dries. If you are using a sinking line or sink tip you can often get away with a couple feet of tippet direct to your line.

Eta. To explain further, a tapered leader is usually required to allow the fly to turn over efficiently, as well as to bleed energy as the fly straightens out so it does not "bounce back" during delivery.

doublehaul
07-07-2011, 10:07 PM
There is a video on YouTube with lessons by Lefty, he suggests using an oval rod tip movement to keep the hook away from the line when casting heavier setups.

maclennanchris
07-07-2011, 10:07 PM