Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Hunting Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Bow hunting vs Rifle hunting (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=152808)

Hogie135 10-17-2012 08:42 PM

Bow hunting vs Rifle hunting

Just curious who prefers what? Do you bow hunt, or do you rifle hunt. Maybe both. What do you like about each method? I am in the process going from a rifle hunting mentality to maybe bow hunting (next year). This is my first year hunting and love my rifle and bringing it out with me but I love the idea of stalking something and getting up close and personal with it too. You can obviously do that with a rifle as well but the bow has recently caught my attention. I'm just afraid of having an empty freezer at the end of a season.

gonefishin 10-17-2012 08:45 PM

Prefer the length of season the bow gives as well as the challenge... and the rush you get when shooting at an animal with the bow is way more intense than shooting with a rifle, IMO.

The rifle is more of a "sure thing" (for lack of better terms), but I find bow hunting much more exciting and enjoyable.

Kurt505 10-17-2012 08:48 PM

Bow hunting brings it to whole new level of addiction. If you like hunting, the bow will add a couple months to your season, depending on where your hunting. Less hunting pressure, and the animals are a bit less spooky before they get hard horned. Personally I get much more enjoyment out of my bow season than rifle.

FishHunterPro 10-17-2012 08:53 PM

I couldnt put my rifle away till I have a wall hanger. I could see it now me sitting in a tree and a buck of a life time won't come closer than 60yrds lol. I would consider trying it with a supplemental tag only after I harvested a mature buck . You say this is your first year hunting. Have you had much success so far ?

fishunter 10-17-2012 08:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kurt505 (Post 1654268)