Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Archery Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   G5 Montecs (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=350305)

DeerMachine11 08-27-2018 06:06 PM

G5 Montecs

Hey guys, I’ve been shooting the Montec 100 grains for about 3 years now, without taking an animal. Always seem to be a better rifle hunter than archer lol aren’t we all? But I digress, I shoot the pre season model quite a bit to stay sharp, but I’m wondering what your experience is with them. Good buddy of mine arrowed a mule buck about 10 years ago and made short work of him with a Montec, how are your experiences with them on larger game like elk and moose? I have a diamond honing stone for sharpening them, which I’ll get to use if I ever kill something with em lol thanks in advance for the replies.

58thecat 08-27-2018 06:44 PM

Complete pass through on my moose a few years ago, 20 ish yards, then a whitetail buck too....so if you do your part you are good to go.

Soab 08-27-2018 07:25 PM

Shot 2 bull elk w them. Pass through on both at 30 yards. No tracking went 20 yards, all I'll shoot for now

Twisted Canuck 08-27-2018 07:41 PM

I've taken two white tail and two black bear with them. One bear I shot a bit too far back and had to track 100 yards, the rest were 10-30 yards. Pass through on all. Not the best blood trail, but they work if you do your part. Keep them sharp.

reddeerhunter 08-27-2018 08:15 PM

All around great head to 35 yds, I hate the whistle and the type of steel. But my very close friend uses nothing but and he has near a dozen P&Y elk. Mostly pass thrus, short draw length and 70lbs.

Lefty-Canuck 08-27-2018 08:34 PM