Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Archery Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Archery while snowing (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=389037)

walk in the woods 10-15-2020 08:40 PM

Archery while snowing

I was out the other day in a fairly heavy snowfall. Also I am new to archery.

Do you worry about this snowfall affecting accuracy? I had an arrow on the string but was worried about snowfall and moisture building up on the arrow shaft and fletching and throwing off the shot. Never actually shot at anything but made me think.

What have others found? Thanks.

3blade 10-15-2020 09:17 PM

It’ll cause hell with drop away rests. Biscuits are better because you can just brush them off, dont let the bristles freeze together.

Bigger problem is washing away/covering up a blood trail. Had this happen once years ago.

Another issues is if it’s snowing, melting on contact, then freezing. Really hard to stay warm or build a fire, water/ice gets into everything, optics get coated and are useless.

Pretty good time to stay in a blind or under a thick spruce. Saw the biggest whitetail I’ve ever seen in the middle of a blizzard...then a car drove into the field and chased him off.

Lefty-Canuck 10-15-2020 10:05 PM

Never had an issue with a drop away rest in the snow or cold.

LC

jcrayford 10-16-2020 06:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lefty-Canuck (Post 4249033)

LC

Yep, never had an issue with any drop away rest from snow or cold, only my own silly mistakes. I'll take a drop away ANY day over an ugly cookie, but that's my preference.....

For what it's worth, I don't think that having 1/4" of snow on your arrow while waiting for an animal means much either. Simple to wipe off now and again and even if you forgot completely about it, it would fly off upon release and wouldn't affect arrow flight.

J.

3blade 10-16-2020 09:25 AM

Quote: