Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Guns & Ammo Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Information on gun auctions in Alberta (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=139546)

millsboy79 07-03-2012 03:11 PM

Information on gun auctions in Alberta

I am new to the gun world and am noticing that used firearms are selling for pretty much retail prices so just starting out seems to be an expensive commitment. I found someone on another site that was going to sell me a shotgun they got at an estate auction. I asked him for information on auctions but I guess he did not want to share his meal ticket.

I was hoping to find out if anyone on here is more forthcoming on locations for gun specific auctions or at least an auction that has firearms as a part of it.

I do enjoy a good auction so ANY information would be greatly appreciated

Thanks for your consideration

gitrdun 07-03-2012 03:22 PM

Auction Depot has a banner in the buy/sell section of this forum.

http://www.auctioncalgary.com/FIREARMS.html

Redneck Renagade 07-03-2012 03:26 PM

Most of the gun auctions I have been to have had ridiculous pricing on guns. They have been the same as new or more. My recommendation would be to watch the buy and sell and watch for a good deal. Another ideas would do research on a gun you want find some pricing on it then watch at auctions for what you want

leo 07-03-2012 03:30 PM

Most auction houses also apply a buyers premium. Your $100 bargain will be closer to $ 130 after taxes and auction fee's.

millsboy79 07-03-2012 03:37 PM

Agreed

Quote:

Originally Posted by leo (Post 1504882)
Most auction houses also apply a buyers premium. Your $100 bargain will be closer to $ 130 after taxes and auction fee's.