Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Guns & Ammo Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Winchester model 1894 30-30 (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=419798)

Skybuster 02-05-2023 01:07 PM

Winchester model 1894 30-30

Hey guys I just received this rifle from my grandfathers estate. I did a bit of searching online and it appears to me that the value is around 1250 CDN. I am basing this on the model, the year of manufacture (based on serial #), and the condition. I looked up the year from the serial #, it shows 1901. Condition-the barrel has lost some blueing and the tip of the stock has a slight 1" crack. The wood is a tad faded but no mars or scratches. Never been refinished. I believe everything is original, untouched. Other than normal use, Gun functions fine.

I am a complete rookie when it comes to appraising. I am rather surprised in the valuation I have come to and I am hoping one of you has experience in estimating the value of this gun. Then I can determine if I want to sell it or not.

Cheers.

P.S. I am working on getting some pics. If there is anything specific that helps to determine value, let me know.

35 whelen 02-05-2023 05:35 PM

Hopefully my grandkids will keep the rifles I give them for a while and not sell them . Keep it in the family

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

Skybuster 02-05-2023 06:17 PM

That is certainly an option.

coolpete1 02-13-2023 08:50 PM

i'm thinking of buying one in the near future , if your looking to sell shoot me a pm

Dewey Cox 02-13-2023 09:21 PM

1250 seems high for a gun with lost bluing and a cracked stock.

58thecat 02-14-2023 07:09 AM

Just keep it, shoot it and enjoy it.
That rifle is far worth more than a few bucks.

Albertajeff 02-14-2023 07:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 58thecat (Post 4609924)
Just keep it, shoot it and enjoy it.
That rifle is far worth more than a few bucks.

X2