Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Fly-Fishing Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Dumb question (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=425388)

densa44 09-18-2023 08:27 AM

Dumb question

I want to use a dry fly as an indicator and fish a nymph under the fly. I have been laying out a line for 70 years, wow where did the time go?

Here are the questions:

How do I ty the dropper and the dry fly on my line?
I use barbless hooks, I haven't kept a fish in over 40 years.

I would like to use either an elk hair caddis or a hopper as the indicator fly and it my attract a strike.

I have purchased, not tied a number of bead head nymphs that I'd like to try.

I don't want my line all tangled, or the nymph sinking my dry fly.

I'd appreciate all the help that I can get. I started off with a $10.00 glass rod from CTC that was so soft all I could do was make very short casts with my silk fly line and roll casts with a wet fly.

zabbo 09-18-2023 08:49 AM

I fish this set up all the time. Usually some type of hopper with another dry or bead head nymph below. Improved clinch knot tied to the bottom of the hopper hook and the same knot for the eyelets on both hooks. This rig can be a real pain if it's the least bit windy, or if you get sloppy with a cast. The dropper can be tied whatever length you wish, but generally the longer it is the more issues you will have. When it gets tangled it will not be easy to get sorted out. On too many occasions I have resorted to using the clippers, cutting the hopper from the tippet and starting again. That said, I have caught many fish on the dropper! Hope that helps and good luck! :)

1 eye 09-18-2023 01:11 PM

If you go to u tube and ask it will show you step by step, tight lines.

Lornce 09-18-2023 07:25 PM