Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 08-05-2014, 11:44 AM

Default Looking for advice on gear

Hi everyone. I am totally new to the sport of fishing - well, not totally, I have been out a couple of times and landed some Walleye with borrowed gear at Sturgeon Lake and am now hooked - so I need some help in selecting the right gear for the recreational fishing I am going to start doing.
I have a basic idea of what I should get for a pole and reel, but beyond that, I am not sure what to buy/not buy etc. I plan on doing some shore fishing in the area around Edmonton, and have plans on buying a small inflatable and motor, but beyond that I am in the dark.
Any help anyone can give me with suggested lures, line, jigs and so on and so forth will be gladly welcomed.
I am excited about entering the world of fishing and look forward to many years of relaxation and seeing this area's lakes and streams.
By the way, I am a catch-and-release guy.
Old 08-05-2014, 12:05 PM

Assuming you are going to want to target all species, a general list of tackle would include;

1) Spoons of various sizes and colors - five of diamonds is a must in a few sizes

2) Jigs - various sizes, colors and some assorted rubber tails

3) Crankbaits - buy deep runners, shallow runners, countdowns, floaters and Rapala is a good brand as they tell you the running depth to eliminate any guesswork - one rule of thumb, the larger the lip, generally, the deeper they will run when trolled on retrieved.

4) Fluorocarbon leader material, swivels and snap swivels to make up your own leaders. Make sure you buy leader material - not just plain old fluoro line.

5) Pliers - needle noses, curved and long ones or a combination of something to get the hooks out of the fish quickly and safely

6) Good set of general tools - knife, nail clippers, etc...,

I'm sure there will be a few more other that will come to mind ....
Old 08-05-2014, 12:29 PM