Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 08-22-2017, 02:29 PM

Default Browning BLR for hunting?

Howdy all,

I do have a question for all you experienced folks. I have been hunting for 3 years now. I have harvested some deer during this time, but I have always borrowed someone else's gun to do so since i could not afford my own. To be entirely accurate, I could afford to buy one and I chose a very nice shotgun at the time since I found waterfowl hunting to be more exciting. Later, I also bought a .22 for upland hunting and fun shooting. This year it so happens that the people I used to borrow a gun from are hunting at the same time when I am planning to do so; thus, borrowing a gun is no longer an option. Well, not this year, anyway.

So I have been looking around and figured I can afford a gun within $1,200 range. I was looking at the bolt action only (and mostly Browning). However, I have found this beautiful 7mm Browning BLR White Gold with a 20" barrel that falls within my price range. For reason probably obvious to most, I am in love with hinge action guns and definitely want to get this one. However, I am not too sure about its practicality. I did do some reading and people hunt with them without any problems. Clearly it is a not as accurate as a bolt action would be, but definitely accurate enough to put an animal down. According to some, it is just as accurate as any bolt action in the price range I mentioned. Some say the first three shots are as accurate as anything else and the rest are less so. If I can't put an animal down with three shots, I probably should not be hunting is my thinking.