Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-31-2007, 06:44 PM

Default Looking for First Duck Call

Im just getting into hunting waterfowl, I went out last night I hit one duck but didnt hit him with enough to bring him down, then after the shots started nothing came in, Im looking to buy my first duck call, I dont have a whole lot of money to spend right now (i can spend 20-30 tops), so what one should I buy?
Old 10-31-2007, 06:56 PM

the three boxes of shells you can buy with that will be a lot more fun than blowing on a duck call.
Old 10-31-2007, 08:55 PM

Primos duck calls are in your price range. But buying a dozen duck decoys will probably work better than having a call. A goose call is well worth buying. I get a way better response from geese versus ducks any day.

Ed S.
Old 10-31-2007, 09:02 PM

Dont buy duck decoys buy goose decoys. Buy a half dozen or dozen goose decoys (Shells on long stakes work awsome even in the water the geese dont know the difference). I say this because ducks will commit to geese but geese wont commit to ducks so with the geese you will have the best of both worlds.

As for a call I really like my Primo's wench but I like my RNT Quackhead J-Frame better. Its louder and raspier than my wench. I like having them both though just incase one isnt what the ducks want I can switch. Ducks will also come to goose calls I have found this year even better than duck calls. When the ducks come by I cluck very fast and they swoop right in.

For a goose call I really love my RNT Quackhead Goozilla. Its a very easy call to blow requiring very little air and I learned very fast on it.
Old 10-31-2007, 09:04 PM

Maybe it's just luck, but I generally get a good response from both ducks and geese. Can't even count how many flocks of 50 or more I called into 10 yards in the past 2 days, but enough to bag a limit or two anyways