Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 07-23-2015, 03:12 PM

Default 2015 Bighorn Sheep Management Plan

Since December of 2014 the proposed changes to the bighorn sheep hunting regulations have been a fairly major topic of conversation on this board, with many so called experts, self proclaimed and otherwise, weighing in heavily. I'm a little surprised that there has been very little discussion about the new 2015 sheep management plan, which has been publically available for nearly a month now. Here's a link to it, if you haven't had a chance to look at it yet. It's a bit of a read, 188 pages worth, but with so many sheep hunters on here proclaiming there passion, I think it's worth the time it takes to read it. And some feedback to the government has never been more important than it is now.

http://www.wsfab.org/pdfs/esrd2.pdf
Old 07-23-2015, 05:13 PM

Thanks Dave for the Info Package link.. I am no expert on Bighorn Sheep , but i sure love the Opportunity to be able to hunt such a magnificent Animal here in Alberta..
Also really looking forward to Hunting them this fall with my son who also has a Draw for 6 point Elk at the same time.
Good Luck to all those Other Sheep hunters as well that will depart for the Mountains this Fall in search of your First or your Next Ram !!

Cheers.
Old 07-23-2015, 07:56 PM

Seems to me they are quick to limit hunting and slow to do anything about habitat even though they admit that high population density limits horn growth. Like most things there is not just one cause and will not be fixed by just limiting hunting although this may have to be part of the solution. I fear they will limit the hunting and not follow through on habitat etc
Old 07-23-2015, 08:01 PM

Thanks for the link, good reading. I found the section on predation intriguing.