Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 12-09-2016, 07:51 PM

Default 7mm rem mag head space.

I am new to reloading and i am attempting to set my head space on my once fired cases. I am aware that belted magnums head space off the belt, but should not the cases stretch when fired and head space off the shoulder? I want to just bump the shoulder back. I tried the Sharpie method and show no marks on the shoulder, also i pulled the pin and spring on my bolt and tried to feel for resistance on my bolt but felt nothing. Should i just bump the shoulders 2-3 thousandths from where they are not knowing how far they sit from the shoulder in the barrel?
Old 12-09-2016, 07:58 PM

If the cases chamber easily, don't bother bumping back the shoulder, just neck size. If the cases provide more resistance than you like to chamber, bump the should back just enough so that the cases chamber easily.
Old 12-09-2016, 08:02 PM
Banned

Use a gauge please
Old 12-09-2016, 08:13 PM

I like the idea of always bumping the shoulder to ensure a consistent and reliable feed every time. Also correct me if I'm wrong but a gauge will not set me to my chamber but to SAMMI spec and off the belt.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 12-09-2016, 08:19 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by HuntinGuy View Post
I like the idea of always bumping the shoulder to ensure a consistent and reliable feed every time. Also correct me if I'm wrong but a gauge will not set me to my chamber but to SAMMI spec and off the belt
Then get a different rifle or chamber it for something else
Old 12-09-2016, 08:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fish_e_o View Post
Then get a different rifle or chamber it for something else

Sorry you didn't know how belts work.

Old 12-09-2016, 08:25 PM
Banned

Quote:

I know how trying to determine headspace works and I'm telling you that you're doing it wrong.