Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 02-28-2017, 02:37 PM

Default Can't drive to Spencer

The department of national defence closed off the truck access trail to Spencer permanently last week. They put up a big steel gate. The only way to get there now is by off highway vehicles. What do u fisherman think? It's a great fishery but it's not going to be easy to get there now!
Old 02-28-2017, 02:39 PM

Selfishly I think it's great. I've been fishing it for many years and accessing it by quad or sled. There's been a ridiculous amount of trucks there the last few years. Doesn't hurt my feelings at all.
Old 02-28-2017, 02:50 PM

the road in from Siebert suck anyways, really tight for a pickup truck to drive in.
Old 02-28-2017, 03:02 PM

That is the trail coming from Touchwood?

I haven't been there yet, heard you could drive there but wasn't sure if people were doing that from Touchwood or via the Siebert trail which you aren't supposed to use with any off road vehicle.
Old 02-28-2017, 03:05 PM

I assume he's referring to the Seibert trail. I take the Seibert trail every time, talked to F & W on the trail and that rule isn't enforced. Never had an issue.
Old 02-28-2017, 06:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lromanchuk View Post
Selfishly I think it's great. I've been fishing it for many years and accessing it by quad or sled. There's been a ridiculous amount of trucks there the last few years. Doesn't hurt my feelings at all.
X2

Some times you catch the Big fish, some times you get stuck in Chip
Old 02-28-2017, 06:54 PM

Quote:
I assume he's referring to the Seibert trail. I take the Seibert trail every time, talked to F & W on the trail and that rule isn't enforced. Never had an issue.
I figured that was the truck way in.