Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-23-2013, 04:14 PM

Default Steelhead river fishing help needed

I have been invited to Steelhead fish in BC this August. This will be river fishing in the Terrace area. I have never done this before so its all new to me. So I was wondering if anyone on the forum could help me out with gear selection for drift fishing for these Steelhead. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Old 05-23-2013, 04:36 PM
Banned

You will need a 9'-6" rod w/ level wind reel.
You will need floats and weight attachments.
You will need good salmon hooks and need to learn how to tie bait loops on your hook.

Then....you will need to learn how to cast and use this setup.

Where do you live?
I have a spare rod/reel setup and am also going to Terrace in Sept.

PM me if you might be interested in borrowing it unless your set on buying.
Old 05-24-2013, 05:51 AM

There's a wide variety of methods for catching Steelhead around Terrace. I'm partial to bottom bouncing corkies and spinning glows. Some friends of mine use nothing but 1/4 oz croc spoons. Blue Fox spinners can produce fish as well. A popular method in is to float fish, some people will using mooching rods/reels others level line reels. Most common presentation is some coloured yarn.

Best advice I can give ya. 10' rod with an ambassadeur 6000 with 20lb mono main line. Might even want to go with heavier line depending on river conditions and fishing method. Bottom Bouncing/lures you'll want stronger to pull off bottom, float fishing you can go with lighter.

There's also flea flicking for steelhead. In personal experience I found that the fly fisherman always had to stand right on top of the seam in which the fish travelled to have much success. Was annoying to see a dozen or so tourists standing on top of the hole when I got out for the weekend. Some of them Europeans have no river etiquette.