Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-17-2013, 12:21 PM

Question Allen bill pond or Chain Lakes?

Hi,

I have been reading the forums since last summer but decided to join this year because I am hoping to be a little more serious about fishing this summer.

So I am a beginner. Got myself a basic fishing set from Walmart and I am all set to go fishing this weekend. Last summer, I went out to Allen Bill Pond but I was looking up the stocking reports and saw that they have stocked the Chain lakes with 25000 fish or so. It is also around the same distance as Allen Bill Pond.

Question is, for a beginner, would the Chain lakes be good? Will I be able to catch a few in 3 or 4 hours? Or should I head to Allen Bill (We caught 3 trouts last year!!!)?
It is much smaller but I am not sure if it is stocked yet .

Thanks!
Old 05-17-2013, 12:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashirsyed View Post
Hi,

I have been reading the forums since last summer but decided to join this year because I am hoping to be a little more serious about fishing this summer.

So I am a beginner. Got myself a basic fishing set from Walmart and I am all set to go fishing this weekend. Last summer, I went out to Allen Bill Pond but I was looking up the stocking reports and saw that they have stocked the Chain lakes with 25000 fish or so. It is also around the same distance as Allen Bill Pond.

Question is, for a beginner, would the Chain lakes be good? Will I be able to catch a few in 3 or 4 hours? Or should I head to Allen Bill (We caught 3 trouts last year!!!)?
It is much smaller but I am not sure if it is stocked yet .

Thanks!
A bad day fishing is still better than a good day at work.......
Old 05-17-2013, 12:49 PM

I have also heard Dewitts is good for beginners. Is that true?
A bad day fishing as a beginner kinda sucks haha.
Old 05-17-2013, 12:52 PM