Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 06-24-2008, 07:35 PM

Default What flies to use

This week i'm going rainbow trout fishing around hinton. Any advice on what flies to use and anything else would be great.
Old 06-24-2008, 08:57 PM

Are you lake fishing or stream fishing

For lakes wooley buggers, leach patterns,streamers, minnow patterns are good starters

Streams elk hair caddis,stimulators,wooley buggers,hares ears,prince nymph and of couse a callabetis mayfly are good starters
Old 06-24-2008, 11:42 PM

Fishmans suggestions will suit you fine. I'd add some Copper-Johns, Pheasant tails, Maybe some SJWorms.

I'm still learning myself, but I have friend whos a guide, and Biologist. He always tells me to "turn some stones over, and use your net", and "Match the hatch", when I ask him for fly suggestions.

I could tell you what was working for me an hour before you fished the same spot, and you could waste your time trying it, cause the fish are on something else. Its more of a factor on rivers vs still-water, but you should always walk around the shore of a lake before you fish it and investigate what terrestrials are around.

Get a small aquarium net at a pet shop, and a "hatch guide" booklet. Pick up some rocks around the banks, in and just out of the water. You'll see the nymphs living in that stretch of water clinging to the bottom of the stones. You have to look hard to see them unless their moving. They look like tiny lobsters. Match the size and color of ones you find, since thats what the trout are expecting.

Bring out the dries only when you see risers, if at all. I haven't fished up there yet, so I can't recommend anything specific. The more I fly fish the more I learn its all about 'Matching the hatch', and the only real way to do that is to check out the area your fishing. Bring a thermometer, and a stomach pump to check out what your catch was eating. Don't forget to give him his meal back, before releasing it.