Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2023, 01:31 AM
brslk's Avatar
brslk brslk is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,368
Default Garage Heater Question

My garage heater stopped working a couple days ago. The blower starts, runs for a bit and then you can hear the igniter trying to light it but nothing happens, then the fan stops. It will usually try a couple times. I checked the diagnostic indicator light and it was flashing twice slowly, supposedly leaning towards there being no gas. I have a sniffer and there was indeed no gas at the nozzle.
I'm thinking it's the gas valve inside the heater. It's a Sterling GG45 that's about ten years old and has never had a problem.

Just wondering if anyone has any ideas on ways to test it or things to try?
Maybe someone can recommend a furnace repair person in Edmonton?

I had to buy a 240V construction heater to keep the garage warm till I get it fixed as I have auto paint stored in the garage that can't freeze.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2023, 05:48 AM
campingnut campingnut is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 86
Default

do you have a liquids trap you can check and then open the gas line slowly to give it a quick blow have doors open to vent gas. heater off, pull the orfices if you can and check, they can get gummed up, give the electrical a once over and check for loose connections,
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2023, 06:07 AM
mac1983 mac1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Peace Country
Posts: 571
Default

Flame sensor.
__________________
Raised on the farm in the bush and on the rigs...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2023, 06:52 AM
Dewey Cox's Avatar
Dewey Cox Dewey Cox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 204
Posts: 4,931
Default

Check the leads to the gas valve.
If it's getting 24v during the point in the cycle where the gas valve should open, it's your gas valve. If you're not getting 24v, its something else.
__________________
"I like to quote my own quotes" ~ Dewey Cox
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2023, 08:01 AM
Dmay Dmay is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Elk Point, Alberta
Posts: 762
Default

Flame sensor. Just replaced mine, same symptoms exactly.
Try clean it first, but I had to replace mine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2023, 08:11 AM
crazyperch's Avatar
crazyperch crazyperch is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sherwood Park
Posts: 352
Default

If its not lighting at all, its not the Flame sensor.

Follow Deweys recommendation.
If you dont have a meter to check, listen to the gas valve, you should hear a click when it opens.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2023, 09:55 AM
shawn shawn is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 93
Default

Crack the union before the valve and make sure you have gas. If you have gas make sure you have 24 vac to the valve when the igniter is trying to light, if you have 24 vac to the valve and it doesnít open you need a valve. If you donít have 24 vac to the valve something else is wrong likely a board issue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2023, 10:25 AM
Stinky Buffalo's Avatar
Stinky Buffalo Stinky Buffalo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: A bit North o' Center...
Posts: 9,875
Default

What Dewey said... Check leads for corrosion etc. Especially in an environment like a garage, oxidation on the leads/terminals can be an issue - particularly if you have millivolt components.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2023, 10:37 AM
Hilgy's Avatar
Hilgy Hilgy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Blackfalds AB
Posts: 556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewey Cox View Post
Check the leads to the gas valve.
If it's getting 24v during the point in the cycle where the gas valve should open, it's your gas valve. If you're not getting 24v, its something else.
Even quicker, disconnect wires from the gas valve. apply 24v. if valve opens its your main board, if not its your valve. either way its an easy fix.

Also depending on the wattage of your 240v electric heater your running you may want to hurry. A 7500w heater keeping an insulated garage size building warm will burn through the cash fast.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2023, 12:15 PM
kidd kidd is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central AB
Posts: 738
Default Pressure switch

Does you heater have a pressure switch or two? My home furnace seems to have had the same exact symptoms. Repair guy on the phone said to try bypass (jump) the pressure switch to determine if it was the pressure switch. It fired up instantly. $40 bucks. The code it was throwing was "no gas".
kidd
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-03-2023, 12:33 PM
crazy_davey's Avatar
crazy_davey crazy_davey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Foothills
Posts: 2,205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kidd View Post
Does you heater have a pressure switch or two? My home furnace seems to have had the same exact symptoms. Repair guy on the phone said to try bypass (jump) the pressure switch to determine if it was the pressure switch. It fired up instantly. $40 bucks. The code it was throwing was "no gas".
kidd
Ha, that exact same thing happened to me just a week ago.
__________________
People are stupid. Prove me wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-03-2023, 01:02 PM
Dewey Cox's Avatar
Dewey Cox Dewey Cox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 204
Posts: 4,931
Default

If the igniter is going, it's not the pressure switch.
__________________
"I like to quote my own quotes" ~ Dewey Cox
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-04-2023, 12:37 AM
brslk's Avatar
brslk brslk is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kidd View Post
Does you heater have a pressure switch or two? My home furnace seems to have had the same exact symptoms. Repair guy on the phone said to try bypass (jump) the pressure switch to determine if it was the pressure switch. It fired up instantly. $40 bucks. The code it was throwing was "no gas".
kidd
I got the same advice from a friend and tried it. Bingo, pressure switch was bad. I was able to clear it with a pin but I ordered a new one anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-04-2023, 12:40 AM
brslk's Avatar
brslk brslk is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewey Cox View Post
If the igniter is going, it's not the pressure switch.
Tried your advice and the gas valve was not opening. It turned out to be the pressure switch. Which I'm glad about considering the gas valve is $400 and the pressure switch is $30.

Thanks for the help, much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-04-2023, 01:05 AM
crazy_davey's Avatar
crazy_davey crazy_davey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Foothills
Posts: 2,205
Default

Now I know to keep extra pressure switch on hand. Never had that issue with older furnaces over the past 30 or more years.
__________________
People are stupid. Prove me wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.