Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-04-2011, 06:13 PM

Default homemade Lures

Hi,

Just curious if any of you make your own lures?

If so, do you get more enjoyment by catching fish with your own homemade lure?

I'm new to fishing, I have my rod plus other items too. However, I have noticed lures are expensive, if you consider they might get lost or stuck.

I started making my own lures. I'm doing bottle cap lures right now and wonder if there is any other easy lures that I should try.
Old 05-04-2011, 06:25 PM

I would suggest jumping into the fly exchange.
http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=91068

Great way to get to know other fishermen/women.

Plus add stuff to your box.

if you dont tie your own check out www.ickyflyworks.ca
Not only are they a sponsor here of this forum they are Canadian!
Old 05-04-2011, 06:28 PM

Smile Yes I did!

I was a kid and poverty was the motive. I looked at lures in the store, "lazy Ike", "river runt spook" and others I don't remember. The best one was tube shaped with a scooped front and large. I painted it white with a bright red front end. When pulled in the water it would shoot a stream and make a big "ploop".

The hardest part was attaching the eye and hooks. I settled on the wire that wrapped the newspapers I delivered. I worked surprisingly well. It took a couple of tries to get one that would float hooks down.

Throw it at the back and huge large mouths would hit, in or near the weeds very large pike.

I used it for years and lost it in a tree where I couldn't retrieve it. It worked better than its much more expensive plastic cousins.
Old 05-04-2011, 07:02 PM