Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-28-2007, 02:21 PM

Default Bait Casts

Looking for some info on baitcasters. Pros n Cons. Comparisons to spincasters. Past experiences good n bad. I tried one out years ago and it ended in a birds nest like no other!!! LOL. That was b4 i had ne idea how or y to use one. Not saying i know y or how to use one now. Let's say i'm a novice therefore bigginer info would be useful. Ne advice or info would be appretiated. Thanks in advance.

What line properties would work best?
Old 05-28-2007, 02:28 PM
-NDN-

they offer more control, and more accuracy in my opinion. i like Trilene XL on mine in the 12 pound and up range. if the line is too thin, sometimes under pressure the line can dig down on itself on the spool. For heavier weighted lures, bigger fish, and more control, i like using nothing else. Quantum is my brand of choice. But to each thier own. Abu Garcia makes some i like to use as well for bigger stuff.
Old 05-28-2007, 02:48 PM
sheephunter

Okay, quick lesson here. A spincast reel is actually one like the Zebco 404 where you push a button on the rear of the reel to cast and the line is all enclosed. I suspect you are speaking of spinning reels. Those are the most common these days and the one that have an open spool and sit under the rod rather than on top.

Now for the question. Baitcaster do take some time to learn but as NDN pointed out they are more accurate when casting. They are well suited to casting heavier lures, say anything over 3/8 ounce and they typically have a better drag system and they will not tangle line if you reel against the drag when fighting a big fish like a spinning reel will. If you are doing a lot of casting for pike or bass then they are the cat's meow. For casting lighter weight lures, jigging, rigging and bobbers, I'd go with a spinning reel.

Newer baitcasters are very adjustable and help eliviate some of the bird's nests but they still take practice.