Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 03-13-2023, 06:41 PM

Default Getting into the Oil Field/Pipeline

Hey all,

Any advice on how to get into the oil field? I am a 3rd year HD mechanic apprentice, and jman automotive tech. I currently work at a job that I think pays pretty good but I am seeing what my buddies who don't have the certificates that I do (Essentially labourers and part time operators, I mean one guy I know who has been to prison twice makes way more then I do lmao) and they blow my pay cheques out of the water and are buying houses, new trucks, toys etc. I've been poking around at jobs in Fort Mac, GP, Fox Creek basically all the typical spots and have been applying for a month plus and haven't heard a thing. A bunch of my friends have said it would be easy as everyone is looking right now. Anyone have any advice or leads? I don't have the typical assets such as H2S, dealer training, or Class 1 or air brake endorsement as my current employer never asked even though I deal with driving semi trucks and mining/oil field equipment everyday. I realize there are sacrifice's that my friends are making that I am currently not, such as I'm less then 15mins from home and am here every night and get 3 out of 4 weekends off, however my wife and I have discussed and decided that it's now or never to try and make some oil field money since we don't yet have a kid. I am willing to stay in camp and commute to Fort Mac or elsewhere for days on. I am more then willing to do rotations as much as 21/6 in order to get my boots on the ground. I have no doubts that I am qualified as far as making repairs and the extreme work environments go. A little frustrated as I haven't heard a thing just yet so like I said, any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you
Old 03-13-2023, 07:07 PM

I’d start with getting all your safety tickets before even applying.

Are you wanting to do shop or field work?
Old 03-13-2023, 07:12 PM

Quote: