Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-26-2020, 04:44 PM

Default 2020 Bear Hunt adventure!!

Disclaimer. I know it’s way early to be baiting I usually don’t bother until April but I didn’t care this year. Combination of needing to get out of the house and having tracks on my side by side for the first time got me excited to put them to the test!

I am excited to be back out baiting bears after about a 2 year hiatus. Changing up my bait locations completely going from north of Bonnyville to north west of Mayerthorpe. Simply to cut down on travel time to baits and it’s on my route up to My spot and stalk area making it convenient to do both on one outing. Plan is to fill one tag on baits and one spot and stalk this year!

Excited about scouting new lands I started studying google earth for days to nail in some promising locations. Once I had that I moved to looking at the land owners maps and found some lease owners with contacts that matched some private that boarders crown, the crown I wanted in on! I Mustard up the courage to make the calls for permission as we needed to use their private quarters to get back there and made the calls (I always equate this to what it was like as teens asking a girl for a date! Afraid to get rejected or telling your buddies with excitement when u don’t haha)

Well excited to report I’m in!!! And they confirmed my instinct by telling me they have a problem with bears on their private lands and would like them gone!! Well I just so happen to know a guy

Fun part about this year is I have a buddy coming out on his first bear baiting experiences which is always a joy to introduce someone else to the world of baiting! So like two teenage boys we prepared for our dates. We started to strategize securing baits. My buddy made his first dumpster dives with success, I rekindled some old sources from here! (Was glad to see the bear baiting thread up and running still)