Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 06-19-2012, 07:36 PM

Default Hunting Zone recommendations within few hrs of Calgary

Hi All,

I am new to Alberta. Have been going through the hunting draws booklets for the last couple of weeks trying to figure out what WMUs to put in for within a 2-3 hr distance from Calgary. 406/408 looked OK from just looking at the harvest reports.

Would very much appreciate any and all guidance and recommendations from folks familiar with the area on what WMUs to apply for that have good access and wildlife. Would like to put in for both antlerless and antlered for whitetail and mule. Antlerless elk and cow or calf moose.

Eventually I would be very happy to just get out a few times, and harvest one animal this season. I will get a bear tag as well. Not sure if there are good bear grounds nearby though.

Thanks again!
Old 06-19-2012, 07:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cahunt View Post
Hi All,

I am new to Alberta. Have been going through the hunting draws booklets for the last couple of weeks trying to figure out what WMUs to put in for within a 2-3 hr distance from Calgary. 406/408 looked OK from just looking at the harvest reports.

Would very much appreciate any and all guidance and recommendations from folks familiar with the area on what WMUs to apply for that have good access and wildlife. Would like to put in for both antlerless and antlered for whitetail and mule. Antlerless elk and cow or calf moose.

Eventually I would be very happy to just get out a few times, and harvest one animal this season. I will get a bear tag as well. Not sure if there are good bear grounds nearby though.

Thanks again!