Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 11-17-2016, 03:47 PM

Default Kayak fishing

I'm planning on taking this up as some summer me time. Many folks on here with info/ advice on which way to go for a kayak purchase?
Leaning towards the Ascend FS10 from bass pro. I am new to kayaking and will be on smaller lakes

Last edited by bearbuster; 11-17-2016 at 03:53 PM.
Old 11-17-2016, 05:24 PM

I wouldn't get a sit in kayak like the FS10. You get what you pay for in fishing kayaks, if you are only going to use it sporadically then an ascend or pelican or some other cheap kayak will get the job done. I would probably get the FS128T if going with an Ascend model though.

Basics to know and research when picking a kayak are as follows.

Length, short and light is nice for carrying but longer kayaks are faster and usually have higher capacity. Shorter kayaks shine on rivers because they are more responsive.

Stability, wider kayaks are usually more stable but not always. Best way to know is to research it(lots of info can be found by googling specific model names). Some fishing model kayaks like the FS128T are stable enough you can stand.

Rigging, different makes/models have different layouts. Depending on how much gear you want to take with you this can be important.

As for kayak brands you have Ascend at Bass Pro, Pelican at Canadian Tire then the better brands are Ocean Kayak at Cabelas/Fishing Hole, Wilderness Systems at Glenmore Sailboats or Aquabatics, Jackson Kayak at Totem or Aquabatics, Hobie at Glenmore Sailboats.
Old 11-17-2016, 06:16 PM