Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 02-08-2016, 09:08 AM

Talking question for big number coyote trappers.

Hi there!
I'm just curious if anyone could share their personal experiences with trapping g large numbers of coyotes in a given area and then coming back to the same area the next year to trap the yotes again. Are the numbers of coyotes caught the second year up/down as compared to the previous year? Is the population of coyotes healthier as a whole? Do you notice greater numbers of rabbits, pheasants? etc. Etc.
This is my first year trapping yotes and have taken a total of right around 120 thus far and I'm very curious to see what next year has in store. I have yet to see any yotes in the fields of the area I've been trapping which is kinda out of the norm so I'm guessing that the overall population has taken quite a hit by yours truly.

Also, I'm addicted to trapping.
Old 02-08-2016, 09:33 AM

That's a great first season. The couple baits I baited last year have produced the same numbers this year. Only real way to find out in your area is try it again next year. More yotes will filter in from other areas this summer. Hit me hard this fall then you have data.
Old 02-08-2016, 10:49 AM

i know its not trapping but i will add my 2cents. i have one feedlot where i shoot a large number of coyotes both calling and off of the deadpile in the winter i have shot in and around 20 each year from that area for the past 2 years and so far have yet to notice a decline in coyote numbers.it seems where there is good area to hold coyotes new ones will move in not long after you remove some.

For my coyote pics @trophy_country_coyotes on instagram

life's too short to fish nymphs
Old 02-08-2016, 10:53 AM
Banned

Nice haul of coyotes, Congrats!