Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 08-10-2016, 08:59 AM

Question Leader / Tippet Questions

I am pretty new to fly fishing and am learning something new almost every time I head out. I have been having some troubles with knot strength and can't remember the last time I went out and didn't lose a fly ... or five.

Sometimes at the fly, sometimes at the tippet, and sometimes I am guessing I get a "wind knot" that I didn't know about.

At the fly I use a rapala or clinch knot depending on the fly (lubricated) for the tippet I use a blood knot also lubricated with saliva.

I think I have simply had some bad luck but it is going to get expensive very fast if I can't figure something out.

I am trying to get in the habit that every couple casts I run my fingers down the length of the leader to check for extra knots that I get simply from my inexperience.

SIDE NOTE: Last night while fishing I did see a knot that was pretty high up in the thicker side of the tapered leader. I am curious how much of the butt section can you lost before you need to put two sizes of tippet on or even a new tapered leader?

With the time I have been having I would probably replace the leader before I start tapering my own especially with the luck I have been having with my knots.

How important is fluorocarbon when fishing in rivers like the bow? Seems it would not take much movement in current to make almost any tippet next to invisible.

Look forward to hearing what you have to say.
Old 08-10-2016, 09:55 AM

tightening them enough? leaving too tiny a tag (hard to do if you tighten them enough)?

Try using a different line, I like P-line fluoroclear, it's awesome and not too expensive. Rio fluoroflex plus is also nice but costs an arm and a leg. There's also nothing wrong with straight up cheap monofilament except that it's not quite as thin

instagram: @schrodo_of_the_shire
Old 08-10-2016, 10:02 AM

What size tippet and leaders you using?