Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 06-18-2017, 03:29 PM

Default A-HA! Moments...

Last week, I picked up my new-to-me bow, minus a rest... So I got a rest today for Father's day. I got it all tuned up, but was going through the motions of drawing back, when it dawned on me....

I am a self taught archer... I figured things out as I went for the past ten years.... Whenever I would shoot, I would try to have whichever pin I was using in the centre of my sight... My groupings were never all that tight, and I wasn't all that comfortable outside of 20 yards... Which severely limited my hunting chances.

Today as I drew back, the peep pined up perfectly around my sight, and I though... Hey, why don't I keep my peep lined up with my sight ring, and just move the pins over the target.... Kind of hard to explain, but I'm 200% confident that is how it's supposed to be done.

Ever have a moment that brings clarity like that?

Being self taught isn't easy, some days...

Jeff
Old 06-18-2017, 07:51 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallen1817 View Post
Last week, I picked up my new-to-me bow, minus a rest... So I got a rest today for Father's day. I got it all tuned up, but was going through the motions of drawing back, when it dawned on me....

I am a self taught archer... I figured things out as I went for the past ten years.... Whenever I would shoot, I would try to have whichever pin I was using in the centre of my sight... My groupings were never all that tight, and I wasn't all that comfortable outside of 20 yards... Which severely limited my hunting chances.

Today as I drew back, the peep pined up perfectly around my sight, and I though... Hey, why don't I keep my peep lined up with my sight ring, and just move the pins over the target.... Kind of hard to explain, but I'm 200% confident that is how it's supposed to be done.

Ever have a moment that brings clarity like that?

Being self taught isn't easy, some days...

Jeff