Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 09-09-2009, 08:09 PM

Default Newbie questions...

I am fairly new to fishing. When you catch a keeper, should you kill it right away or keep it alive untill you go in to shore? Also, what is the best way to kill a fish before cleaning it. I feel so barbaric wacking it.
Old 09-09-2009, 08:10 PM

whack away, we are all barbarians under the skin. Law says kill it right away if you intend on keeping it. may want to remove the gills to slow spoilage tho.

Shove your masks and your vaccines
Non Compliance!!!!!!
"According to Trudeau, Im an extremist who needs to be dealt with"
#Trudeau must go

Wheres The Funds

The vaccine was not brought in for COVID. COVID was brought in for the vaccine. Once you realize that, everything else makes sense.” ~ Dr. Reiner Fuellmich
Old 09-09-2009, 08:16 PM

Yeah, I don't like whackin' them either. Needs to be done, though. I dislike seeing fish flopping around and "gasping" even more than I dislike whackin' them.

I've got a little fish "bat" that I keep in my tackle box: very handy, and means I don't have to go hunting for a rock. The bat's a "panfish" size, so it might not be particularly effective on a bigger fish.

God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the world. Then he made the earth round . . . and laughed.
Old 09-09-2009, 08:21 PM

True Wayne. Also, if u figure ur gonna catch bigger fish later on to fry, let ur catch go. Do not hang on to a fish unless u intend to eat it as I am sure u know. As far as eating goes, catch n bonk, jus be sure ur bonkers are ur keepers. I personally have always found, young - mid age fish are much better eats than old frys. IMO. Fish on
Old 09-09-2009, 08:21 PM

Just tear through the little piece of cartilage on the bottom of the fish right under the gills. They bleed out really quickly.

The faster you get the entrails and blood out of the fish the better they taste IMO.