Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 04-02-2010, 04:10 PM

Default Bow river - can't keep 'em????

I'm fairly new to Alberta and after reading (and trying to figure out the endless regulations regulating the Bow river) I thought it might be just a simple to ask here:Is there anywhere on the Bow that you can keep Trout, (other than the little Brook trout)?I noticed quite a crowd out on the Bow today (around the Calgary area). Is it all catch-and-release? I love the sport of fishing, but it would be nice to finish the day off with a nice meal too!!

What's the story on the Bow?

Maybe an additional question would be this: Is there any good river fishing on any river around the Calgary area where you can keep what you catch?

Last edited by Artist; 04-02-2010 at 04:12 PM. Reason: Updating...
Old 04-02-2010, 04:30 PM

There are only a couple of sections where you're limited to Brook trout.

The regs for the Bow are a mess to read through. Here are the sections from the 2010 regs in ES1 where you can keep something other than a Brookie (you can't, of course, keep Bulls):

Bow River

from first dam below Hwy 1X downstream to Ghost Reservoir (not including the reservoir), & tributaries except Ghost River
Apr. 1 to June 15 – Trout limit 0; Mountain Whitefish limit 5 over 30 cm; Bait Ban
June 16 to Oct. 31 – Trout limit 1 under 35 cm; Mountain Whitefish limit 5 over 30 cm; Maggots are the only bait allowed and only in the river from Aug. 16 to Oct. 31.
Nov. 1 to Mar. 31 – CLOSED

from (Ghost Dam) downstream to Bearspaw Reservoir (not including the reservoir), & tributaries except Jumpingpound Creek
Apr. 1 to June 15 – Trout limit 0; Mountain Whitefish limit 5 over 30 cm; Bait Ban
June 16 to Oct. 31 – Trout limit 1 under 35 cm; Mountain Whitefish limit 5 over 30 cm; Maggots are the only bait allowed and only in the river from Aug. 16 to Oct. 31.
Nov. 1 to Mar. 31 – CLOSED