Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 05-12-2008, 10:51 PM

Default Trolling Motor Battery - Which one?

I bought a new trolling motor, a Minn Kota Maxxum 50lber and I would like some advice from you as to which would be my best option as far as selecting a strong cell.

It is a 12V, will this provide me with enough snot for a full day of fishing? I am running a 15ft Flatback Canoe with approx 400 -500 lbs weight.

Should a guy get two and run them in parallel to gain more run time?
Deep Cycle, gel?? Yes or No??

What is working for you? I appreciate the replies fellas, tight lines
Old 05-12-2008, 11:07 PM

I have always used deep cycle batteries because they are made to put out amps over a long period of time, unlike a car battery that has to put out a lot of cranking amps for short periods of time. I have no experience with gel batteries, but they are more expensive. I would just run the batteries separately, because it is best to drain deep cycle batteries as low as you can before recharging. Apparently, if you only discharge a new battery to half of its capacity a few times, it will develop a memory, and you won't get the full potential from it. Also, get yourself a deep cycle charger. I've had the best luck with the Energizer deep cycle batteries from Walmart - best bang for your buck!
If you run two of these in parallel, you could probably go all weekend if you are just trolling. I also check the water level in each cell before putting them on the charger, and add enough distilled water to cover the plates in each cell. This motor should have no problem pushing your canoe around.
Old 05-13-2008, 07:17 AM

Default I use

2 deep cells from Canadian Tire (one at a time) and one battery will do a whole day. I use the same combo for my 12 ft Jon Boat but often need to go to battery number two, when using the boat.