Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 01-31-2020, 04:02 PM

Default Fly-Fishing Setup

Hi All,

I’m looking for advice on a new fly-fishing setup.

I’ve been fly-fishing for nearly 20 years, and have yet to purchase a rod or reel. Over that time, I’ve been using hand-me-downs from friends and relatives. To be honest, I’ve only gone through a few rods, and maybe two reels. My goal now is to get a setup that’s more suited to how I fish/the fish I’m going after.

Typically, I’m fishing for trout (rainbow, cutthroat, and bull) and it’s usually in medium sized rivers (around 50’ across). Occasionally, I will lake fish from shore.

Before you ask, I couldn’t tell you what my current setup is, outside of an 8ish’ three-piece rod, and a very old reel that still manages to bring the line in.

I’m not necessarily looking for specific brands, but information on action, weight, line types, etc. I know a post could be written on each of these subjects individually, so I’m looking for more general guidance.

Cheers,

Jay
Old 01-31-2020, 05:05 PM

The weight, action and line is more determined by the type of fishing you enjoy and the size of the fly. Skill is also a factor.

Bull trout for example are generally fished with fairly large streamer type flies. IMO a fairly fast 8 wt with a weight forward line is ideal however if you want this rod to double duty as big dropper rig and/or a sink tip or full sink rig, a medium or full flexing rod might serve you better.

A 4, 5 or 6 would generally be considered a good all around trout rod for the other trout. The rest of it depends on who you talk to.
Old 01-31-2020, 06:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fromhurynout View Post
Hi All,

I’m looking for advice on a new fly-fishing setup.