Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 06-03-2014, 08:25 AM

Default Can anyone identify this fish I caught in Mcgreggor?

I caught this thing a few years back from Mcgreggor Lake but not sure what it is. Anyone?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN1250.jpg (39.6 KB, 1314 views)
Old 06-03-2014, 08:26 AM

Rainbow trout.
Old 06-03-2014, 08:28 AM

Were you trolling?
Old 06-03-2014, 08:39 AM

Trouser Trout?
Old 06-03-2014, 08:46 AM
Banned

I'm no trout expert but that almost looks like a steelhead.
Old 06-03-2014, 08:48 AM

There are a few nice rainbows in Mcgregor as it is fed by the irrigation line which diverts water off the Bow river at Carseland. They are typically very fat if they are big enough to avoid the pike. I caught one in the ditch between Mcgregor and Travers many years back. I have not heard of any in Travers, but would assume there might be one or two...Nice chunky rainbow, by the way...
Old 06-03-2014, 08:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjuanworm View Post
Rainbow trout.
x2

there used to be a few in there.
Old 06-03-2014, 08:51 AM

Wow quick responses thanks. I was fishing with smelt for Pike actually so was surprised to get this.
Old 06-03-2014, 09:16 AM

There is a section in the regs that covers fish ID. Please have another look at it.

I say this not to be rude, but fish ID is extremely important to us as anglers in helping with conservation. That fish you have there is probably the most prolific in Alberta. As a licensed angler there is no way that you should not be able to ID it.

I am hoping you are trolling though.
Old 06-03-2014, 09:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowtown guy View Post
There is a section in the regs that covers fish ID. Please have another look at it.