Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 05-10-2014, 02:24 PM

Default Backcountry Camping - Hike In

Hi,

I'm new to Calgary and am looking for backcountry camping ideas/areas. I've seen a lot of posts on K-Country and Forestry Trunk Road, but am looking for something secluded without ATVs or camp trailers nearby. Happy to drive 3+ hours from Calgary for a day-long hike into a campsite. Fly fishing would be a bonus but not absolutely necessary for our first trip. I know people aren't going to rush to give up their favourite spots, but a general area, or a few rivers/trails that are suitable for backcountry/random camping would be great.

Thanks in advance,

Zakland
Old 05-10-2014, 03:05 PM

You might have the best luck by going into MEC and buying one of the Hiking trails books they sell. Lots of very accurate information there where you could pick the best trek for the time of year and amount of time you have available.
Old 05-10-2014, 03:23 PM

Careful, mentioning MEC on here is like trying to educate people on proper fish handling, it's likely to get you banned!!

Zakland, I'll try to PM you in the next little while and I'll pass along some info...

Peter

-Confucius
Old 05-10-2014, 03:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ÜberFly View Post
Careful, mentioning MEC on here is like trying to educate people on proper fish handling, it's likely to get you banned!!

Zakland, I'll try to PM you in the next little while and I'll pass along some info...

Peter
Not true Peter. Where someone shops or how they legally release fish is not anyone else's business until they are asked.
Sorry for the slight derail Zakland.
Old 05-11-2014, 07:38 PM