Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 11-15-2014, 08:33 AM

Default Game cam

Hey guys, I just bought my first game cam and I'm curious of a few things:

1) will alkaline batteries survive 4 days of -20 and colder? ( I'm putting a lithium pack in when I go to check it monday)

2) when setting it up, do my tracks put the deer off if I cross their well-beaten trail? ( I hiked in over a km to the spot but bushwhacked through the deer trail a bit ) How ninja-like should I be?

I'm new to hunting big game and I know it's late in the season for setting up a camera but I figure it's better late than never. After finding a whole pile of fresh buck tracks in the spot i've scouted, I couldn't help myself Tonnes of massive wolf tracks as well. I'd be just as happy to take a timber wolf this year too, after seeing the inordinate ratio of predator vs prey tracks.

Any other tips on setting up game cams are greatly appreciated!

-Megan
Old 11-15-2014, 08:55 AM

The batteries will last.
Your camera will be slower than molasses in 20 below.
A lot of the cheaper cameras say they only work at warmer than -20.

As for your crossing the deer trail... What sort of scent discipline do you maintain?

How pressured are these deer?

How many deer?

Try it and see is all one can do... Learn from your mistakes.

There are no absolutes
Old 11-15-2014, 09:05 AM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.