Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 03-04-2013, 09:46 AM

Default Bowhunting without a treestand?

I'm a novice bow hunter and I can barely afford all my other equipment let alone a tree stand. I was wondering what techniques would work best for white tails be it spot and stalk or hunkering down in some brush and waiting? Any advice would be much appreciated!
Old 03-04-2013, 09:48 AM

Or maybe even just climbing up a tree and sitting in a branch?
Old 03-04-2013, 09:55 AM

Ground blinds at waterholes and funnel points work.
i'e hunted out of a treestand three times since i was 12 years old, din't enjoy any of it!
However, the fact remains that it is a very productive way to hunt.
I enjoy still hunting and staalking however, or parking behind a blow down,rock pile, etc.....
Cat
Old 03-04-2013, 09:56 AM

Old 03-04-2013, 09:57 AM

Alright those both sound like they could work for me! Thanks for the advice!!
Old 03-04-2013, 10:26 AM

I have shot more critters bowhunting on the ground than any other way...stay in the shawdows..still hunt..when i still hunt I will take seven steps or to cover wait 15 minutes walk seven steps etc...set up brush blinds on trails to feeding/bedding areas..Calling ...very important ..learning to call animals is one of the most sucessfull methods if done right...

Back in the day we used to build all our stands...now one cant afford not to buy one ..lol ..they are very cheap and one cant hardly buy materials for cost of some now...there are portable stands for $59.00 that will work nicely...

many dont like heights and are quite happy on the ground and do very well..

Just get out there is the big thing...

Neil
Old 03-04-2013, 10:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigRosgen View Post

:d Not as easy as it sounds ,,can be downright dangerous also...shooting and hanging on dont cooperate with each other ...lol

Neil
Old 03-04-2013, 10:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.O.S.T.Arrow View Post