Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 09-15-2021, 02:13 PM

Default Any car dealers/wholesalers experienced with Liens

Im new to the car sales industry and I’m looking on insight on how to go about buying a truck with a lien in the safest possible way. Giving a person a cheque and expecting them to pay off the lien right after, doesn’t really sit right with me. Does anyone have experience doing this? And can give some advice on what’s the safest possible way to do it? Thanks
Old 09-15-2021, 02:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy123 View Post
Im new to the car sales industry and I’m looking on insight on how to go about buying a truck with a lien in the safest possible way. Giving a person a cheque and expecting them to pay off the lien right after, doesn’t really sit right with me. Does anyone have experience doing this? And can give some advice on what’s the safest possible way to do it? Thanks
If you must buy a vehicle with a lien on it you can:

-Sometimes the loan has been paid but the lien hasn't been removed, talked to the bank and actually verify that there is a lien on it; and,

-Write the cheque out to the bank, they take their cut, to get the lien removed, and the seller gets the rest. I'd get written notice from said bank that lien has been removed.
Old 09-15-2021, 02:25 PM

Quote:
A friend of mine went with the seller to the place that held the lien and payed there.
Old 09-15-2021, 08:02 PM
Banned

Quote:
Your best to contact KEN07VETTE (sp) from here
Old 09-15-2021, 08:06 PM

Myself, I'd be long gone from the purchasing of anything with a lien on it. Just not worth any headache(s)
that may come with it.
Old 09-15-2021, 08:07 PM

Your only way to be safe is to get a letter of release from the lien holder
Old 09-16-2021, 12:07 PM

Find out who holds the lien...usually a bank