Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 09-29-2022, 05:26 PM

Default More Happy than I’ve Been in Quite Some Time

My son is 19. Graduated during Covid. Really good kid. Biggest trouble he’s given us is a messy room. Smart enough to go to university, but I never encouraged it. I may be different, but as a teacher, I have always felt that the trades have so much more to offer than trying to figure out what you wanna do while at university. I did not want him to follow in my footsteps. University, at least in my opinion, is a black hole unless you have something very specific in mind. Anyhow, this summer I pointedly challenged him to get serious and choose a job that can lead somewhere. He took it to heart, started investigating the trades, and a week ago he told me he wants to get on as a welding apprentice.

A hunting buddy got him an interview, and today he got on with Edmonton Exchanger, and after his probation will choose between welding, pipe fitting or boilermaker and head to NAIT.

Such a good feeling when your kids make good decisions and start finding their way in life.

Today, I am happy and thankful. Just really, really thankful.
Old 09-29-2022, 05:37 PM
Banned

Boilermakers left the Building trades and just signed a $10+ raise over 3 years, $8+ over the first 3 months. 146 is a strong Union and if your son has the right attitude he will succeed there. They have alot of work and they have alot of connections in the States if he is willing to travel and make bank while things are slow here.
Old 09-29-2022, 05:38 PM

Sounds like a good kid, you should be proud. Nice to see some recognition for the trades as well.