Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 03-16-2009, 05:34 PM

Default Camo For Deer Season

Hey all,

My birthday is coming up, kind of (end of april), and since back country sports is closing out, i thought i would go check out the camo. Its pretty well picked over, and i got to thinking... What kind of camo do you guys use for deer season? I assume it would need to be quiet, warm, water/windproof. I am new to hunting, this year going to be my first, so i have no field experience. So what do you guys recommend? Not looking to break the bank, <$200 for pants/bib and a jacket. Looking for insulated, since it would probably get cold that time of year. Crazy albertan weather. Do any of you guys use coveralls?

thanks for the feedback ya'll

-Jeff.
Old 03-19-2009, 11:04 PM

Default Deer Season Camo

Personally I like the big break up patterns such as Asat or Predator. I leave the warmth to the layering I always wear and to be honest if it is raining hard enough for rain gear I'll most likely be pushing bush and therefore the camo pattern and being silent aren't nearly as important.
Old 03-20-2009, 04:26 PM

Fallen,

Look for a pattern that fits the area you'll be hunting. When I go to buy camo, I stand back as far as I can from it and see if it looks black. Alot of camo patterns are too dark for hunting in Alberta. What you wnat is something that will blend in to your area. Unless your hunting in Pine or Spruce, most of your colors will be be Green, white, yellow, orange, brown, and black. Myself, I usually hunt from a stand, so i like greens and browns for early season. Once the leaves are all gone, I switch to Whites. You look pretty silly walking through a field in Mid Oct ober wearing whites, but trust me, best bet for camo if hunting the aspens/poplar areas. If I'm hunting on the ground, then its strickly browns and tans until the snow flies, then whites.