Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-03-2015, 11:48 AM

Lightbulb New Hunter Kit

Did a bit of a search on the forums and couldn't find much so here goes...

I am just starting out hunting edible game (been shooting gophers since I was 12, and I am now over 40 ;-), and I was wondering a good place to start for a kit / get ready for first season hunting deer, elk, and moose. I took the hunter training program, and they have items but it seemed to be a bit dated. Not planning on going too far back country (truck a mile or so away), being new to the activity. What do you guys suggest?

Here's what I was thinking - 6 months to go! (pick it apart - I am here to learn!):

-WIN Number
-PAL
-30-06 rifle with scope - approximately $1200 in total for both - no need to go crazy until I know how to take care of it / determine if hunting is for me
-Truck
-Lots of practice with gun prior to heading out
-Emergency kit
-4" knife
-warm jacket / pants / hat / gloves that don't swish in cold (is camo required?)
-Good boots
-rope
-binoculars
-lots of reading on this forum!
-Watch videos
-place to go with plenty of sign
-put in for draws / get tags
-Line up someone to go with

I go into any outdoors store, and I see so much! Blinds and tree stands and scents and antlers and camo and cameras, etc. What does a guy need really, in order to have some early success, which will in turn build that hunting addiction you all have ;-) that will then justify the other stuff?

Cheers

Cheeks
Old 03-03-2015, 01:16 PM

Default New Hunter Kit

Personal preference- camo isn't required. Comfort and mobility is key; wind direction and minimizing movement are more important than the color of your clothes.

Get good boots.

Tree stands help, but aren't necessary. You'll be amazed at what you see when you still hunt off the beaten path.