Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 01-31-2018, 02:43 PM

Default Medicine Hat Hot Water Return

I'm new to Medicine Hat and have been seeing someone fishing in a part of the river where it looks like there is hot water being pumped back into the river. I'm just curious if anyone knows what a guy could expect to catch there. I'm assuming that there's probably decent size Pike in water like that. But would you catch perch, goldeye, burbot or sturgeon there?
Old 01-31-2018, 02:48 PM
Banned

Just on the west side of of the transcanada north of of the power house?
Old 01-31-2018, 03:06 PM

I assume you mean coming from the cogen next to the bridge....it's great for walleye in the fall and the odd sturgeon is pulled from there. I fish it occasionally when I'm down there for the CFI shutdown.
Old 01-31-2018, 03:24 PM

I think it's cogen. The water is very shallow so walleye is not what I expected to be the target fish there. I'm going to have to head down and give it a try.
Old 01-31-2018, 03:28 PM

Walleye are not afraid of shallow water if it is where their food resides.
Old 01-31-2018, 03:31 PM

Could have been after bait fish. Ran into a fisherman at one of my river spots one year asking how the area was for minnows. Was complaining about how many people netted the outflow there.
Old 01-31-2018, 04:25 PM

I've seen a guy with a net there. But more often than not it's someone fly-fishing.
Old 01-31-2018, 11:10 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil69 View Post
I assume you mean coming from the cogen next to the bridge....it's great for walleye in the fall and the odd sturgeon is pulled from there. I fish it occasionally when I'm down there for the CFI shutdown.
Love that shutdown, the camaro crash helmet is alive and well at CF, I’ve fly fished in the fall with no success, didn’t try very hard mind you.
Old 02-01-2018, 09:28 AM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSR Fisher View Post