Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 07-26-2017, 11:04 PM

Default Saddle Lake?

Hey guys I'm new to the bonneyville/ St Paul area and was wondering if anybody could tell me more about saddle lake fishing. I really want to try this lake out, but don't know about the restrictions with the natives and/or whether the lake is tecnically theirs or not. Anything would help as I'm just looking for more insight to fishing here. Thanks!
Old 07-27-2017, 12:08 AM

Even if you could, you wanna leave your vehicle on a lake on the reserve? I know I wouldn't.
Old 07-27-2017, 08:31 AM

you will have to ask the band to access the lake
Old 07-27-2017, 08:52 AM

Most likely you will get harassed and or vehicle damaged. Not sure I would go there unless you go with a local First Nation.
Old 07-27-2017, 03:46 PM

Default Don't quote me on this please

I've wanted to go fishing on saddle for years because I have heard rumours of big ol piggie perch..... but to my understanding the town of saddle lake on the reservation uses the lake for drinking water, so they are not a fan of people fishing on it.

Also since they have the rights to the lake you have to obtain written permission from the band chief to go fishing on the lake. (This is all information from Ifish Alberta I have never actually made contact with the band chief.)

Why not contact both the local fish and wildlife department and the chief of the saddle lake reservation and find out from them they would definitely have the answers you are looking for.
Old 07-27-2017, 04:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggieB View Post
I've wanted to go fishing on saddle for years because I have heard rumours of big ol piggie perch..... but to my understanding the town of saddle lake on the reservation uses the lake for drinking water, so they are not a fan of people fishing on it.