Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 09-17-2011, 05:24 PM

Default +75 yard shots... Unethical any way you look at it

Sorry, gonna rant here. I heard of a new guide down here bragging up his client took a mulie, which they shot at 117 yards..... Yes witha bow.
Then I read about a guy who took a pronghorn.... With a 78 yard shot !

Sorry , but I've been shooting for over 20 years, and I absolutely cannot see anyone claiming they can make a reliable shot at those distances. I don't care what kind of archery gear your packing, it's a hail Mary shot and your a poor hunter.... Period!!

Oooooh I'm steAmed!!

Rant done,.... Thanx.
Old 09-17-2011, 05:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bessiedog View Post
\

Rant done,.... Thanx.
Rant is done...but I'm guessin that this thread is FAR from over.....
Old 09-17-2011, 05:47 PM

I have never heard or seen a shot from a bow of over 100 yards.
I would not think that you would all that accurate at 100 yards to many variables
Old 09-17-2011, 10:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gramps73 View Post
I have never heard or seen a shot from a bow of over 100 yards.
I would not think that you would all that accurate at 100 yards to many variables
Byron Fergusson shoots balloons at 100 yards with a LongBow instinctively for kicks lol!!
Old 09-17-2011, 05:45 PM

If your still shooting the same bow as 20 years ago I can see how you would think so. How close do you have to be to be to be a good hunter? Do you feel the same way on long distence rifle shots?
Old 09-17-2011, 05:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by C Taylor View Post
If your still shooting the same bow as 20 years ago I can see how you would think so. How close do you have to be to be to be a good hunter? Do you feel the same way on long distence rifle shots?
Just how far is too far?
An arrow at 117 yards is going how fast?
I know out of my flat bow it sure isn't fast!!