Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-10-2018, 08:56 AM

Default Wolves

There numbers are high. How many hunters spend the time to take one yet alone 2 while your out. We’re going to have to play a bigger part for the gov’t is not going to cull them. For the ungulates to survive we have to all become part of the solution. We are the only predator of wolfs and with the fur trade issues from tree huggers the wolf population keeps rising. So call them in to your camp and give them a lead meal.
Old 08-10-2018, 09:24 AM

It's easier said than done, I've been hunting them for 8 years and only shot 2 so far. Last year I've decided to step up my game and realize a long time dream and start trapping. My idea was to become a junior on someone else line and only focus on canine. It turns out trappers don't like to share, no one wanted to sign me as a junior, even those who openly admitted not targeting canine. For now I'm only trapping coyotes on farmland, and I'll keep trying, one day I might find a trapper willing to share his line.
Old 08-10-2018, 10:51 AM

I killed 2 yesterday they have been hanging around my cows
Old 08-10-2018, 11:26 AM

You need to kill off 3/4 of a pack to do any good for the ungualtes in an area. Got a bit of experience in that. Only real way to get pack numbers down for us normal people is to trap them. The Gov't needs to step it up and make it worth while for trappers
Old 08-10-2018, 03:29 PM

Default Should be mandatory for trappers

In Ontario owners of a registered trapline have a minimum amount of beavers that need to be trapped in order to keep their trap line. Out west here we should have the same deal with a wolf minimum. Would also force trappers to actually trap instead of holding onto the line in some hope of selling it for big money
Old 08-10-2018, 04:47 PM

I'm with you, Suzukisam... I just haven't had a lot of luck getting them in range lately!

Will keep trying!
Old 08-10-2018, 05:02 PM