Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-30-2011, 10:24 PM

Default elk in wmu 104

im thinking of trying some new country out for elk this fall.i was wondering if anyone had any knowledge of the amount of elk in the wmu,if its worth putting in for the antlered draw.also,are there any decent campgrounds to park a fifth wheel this summer if i was doing a scouting,talking to landowners trip. thanks.
Old 03-30-2011, 10:33 PM

What season were you considering? What type of priority do you have? How much time do you plan on hunting and what size bull do you want to kill with your tag? What type of hunt mostly interests you?

There is a lot that goes into what a 'good' area to draw an antlered elk tag could be. I've got some pretty decent knowledge of most of the prairie areas and would be glad to help you out a bit with 104 if I knew a bit more. To start, its not an 'easy' area to kill an elk, and a lot can depend on a ton of variables.

That being said, maybe I can provide some more insight for you....
Old 03-30-2011, 10:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rackmastr View Post
What season were you considering? What type of priority do you have? How much time do you plan on hunting and what size bull do you want to kill with your tag? What type of hunt mostly interests you?

There is a lot that goes into what a 'good' area to draw an antlered elk tag could be. I've got some pretty decent knowledge of most of the prairie areas and would be glad to help you out a bit with 104 if I knew a bit more. To start, its not an 'easy' area to kill an elk, and a lot can depend on a ton of variables.

So true about that zone.
Old 03-31-2011, 06:00 AM

The weather plays a huge roll in that zone, I've seen some decent Bulls pulled out of that zone on the last season a little bit of bad weather and some luck you could get a Bull!!!!
Old 04-01-2011, 12:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rackmastr View Post